Originally defensive prismatic tower of the town’s fortification system. It is located near the former main city gate which was part of the fortress the so-called The Lower Castle. Its defensive function is evidenced by narrow windows (loopholes). The turret apartment was later set up on the top floor to guard the city against frequent fires or other dangers.
Today it offers visitors a nice view of the city and the castle. There is an exposition of historical crafts, seals of the Loket guilds, apprenticeship certificates, guild books and orders.
• The entrance to the tower is located at the middle of its height (proof of the defense function of the tower).
• The total height of the tower is 32 meters from the street to the top floor you climb up 25 stone and 78 wooden stairs.
opening hours: daily
• V.–IX. 11 am – 5 pm
• VI.–VIII. 11 am – 7 pm
• X.–IV. closed
The church is situated on the origin Gothic church that was burn down in 1725. Construction of the new Baroque church was completed in 1734. Interior of it is rather valuable; the altar paintings are ascribed to Petr Brandl, the side altars are probably created by the local sculptor Jan Wildt. There are also older statues saved from the fire; statue of Christ and the late Gothic Madonna. The church was designed by Wolfgang Braunbock.
The statue of the great poet and writer created by Willibald Russ was erected opposite the Chapel of St Anna in 1932. J.W. Goethe used to visit Loket. It was also here he celebrated his 74th birthday with Mrs Levetzow and her daughters. The poet fell in love with young Ulrika von Levetzow but he also experienced with amorous disillusion after her refusal his asking to marry him. Then he never returned to Loket.